How to Recover Deleted or Lost Files and Photos from iPhone

It is easier to delete pictures on mobile phones than it is to capture them. At times, users delete cherished photographs or relevant files from their phones. In the haste to free up their phone’s memory, they end up removing important stuff. Losing your treasured memoirs forever is disastrous. However, time and again it happens that users make the terrible mistake of deleting important files or pictures. If you have accidentally deleted something and want to recover it, then do not fret. There are a couple of ways which will help you recover deleted or lost files and photos from your iPhone.

How to recover deleted pictures from iPhone?

If you have accidentally or purposely deleted an image from your iPhone’s gallery and want to get it back, then read on. The photos on an iPhone are kept in the Photos application. The Photos application in MacOS and iOS are quite similar. It comes with a month-long grace period which allows users to restore deleted media stored in the Photos application.

If you have deleted any pictures from your iOS device and wished to retrieve it, then go to the Photos app. Head to Albums located at the lower right-hand side of the app. Go below and find the Recently Deleted album. Select it from the list.

The media files which were removed permanently in the previous thirty days will be listed in the album. They will contain information about till when the user can recover them. If thirty days have not passed since you deleted the image or video, then you can reclaim it.

When you open the deleted image, you will see two options: Recover Photo and Cancel. Tap on the Recover Photo option, and the picture will get shifted to the iPhone gallery.

How to recover pictures and files from Backup?

You need to know that if you have turned on the feature, then whatever you delete from the iOS device, gets removed from the iCloud as well.

Therefore, if you are somebody who often needs to reclaim deleted files, then you should get Dropbox on your iPhone. Dropbox is a fantastic cloud storage application.

  1. Just create an account on Dropbox and install the application on your device.
  2. Launch the app and go to Settings.
  3. Select Camera Upload and enable it.
  4. Now, whenever you snap pictures, their copies will get moved to Dropbox.
  5. Go to Dropbox and tap on Photos tab.
  6. You will now be able to see all the pictures that have been uploaded lately.
  7. Any deleted picture will also be present in the Camera Uploads folder.
  8. Choose the picture and hit the Share button.
  9. Select Save Image from the list of options.

By using a cloud storage application, you can prepare yourself well in advance. IF you remove any important file from your iPhone, then you can reclaim it.

Mir Ariif  is a self-professed security expert; he has been making the people aware of the security threats. His passion is to write about Cybersecurity, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. He writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup

How to Enable Root User and Access Parts of Mac

Mac users often wonder how to enable the Root User account in the system. Hence this guide is mentioning the methods and steps to enable the Root User account in Mac systems. You need to go deep into your Mac to enable this account, but before proceeding with the method, you should know the reason for enabling the account.

Mac has some files which cannot be accessed through a user account. The Root User account allows you to access these files and move them without setting any complexities. The file deletion, recovery and scanning becomes easier in the account. But, the modification or changes in these files can cause severe damage or harm to the Mac system. So you must acknowledge the necessity to enable the Root User account and access the files.

Here is how to enable Root User and access the parts of Mac

Create the Root User Account

To create the Root User account, you will require to refer the System Preferences of your Mac.

  1. Click the Apple logo and a drop-down menu list will open.
  2. Now, click System Preferences from the menu.
  3. Select the Users & Groups.
  4. Move to the bottom left of the window and click the lock icon.
  5. Enter the Admin username and password.
  6. Click the Login Options and click to Join tab.
  7. Click the Open Directory Utility tab.
  8. Again, click the lock icon from the left bottom of the corner.
  9. Enter the password and go to Directory Utility.
  10. Click Edit from the toolbar and select Enable Root User option.
  11. Type a password. Ensure that the password should not match with the admin account and you can remember it.
  12. When you are done with providing the password, click Ok.
  13. You just created the Root User account.

The Terminal is an alternative method to create a Root User account.

Press Command + N key combination to open Finder window in your Mac.

  1. Click Application and move to click Utility option.
  2. Now click to launch Terminal.
  3. Type the command – dsenableroot and press the Return or Enter key.
  4. The admin username will display.
  5. Now, enter the admin password.
  6. Press Return key.
  7. You may require to enter the password again and press Enter.
  8. The Terminal will pop up the Root User message.

Log into Root User account

It is not complicated to log into the Root User account on the Mac system. The login is similar to other accounts.

  1. Log out of the current account from your Mac.
  2. Now, the Mac login screen will appear.
  3. Click the Other option.
  4. Now enter the login credentials which you recently created for your Root User account.
  5. The account will look like a regular user account, but the difference is that the account is allowing to access every file in the system.

If you do not require the Root User, then you can disable the account.

  1. Click the Apple logo and open the drop-down menu.
  2. Click System Preferences and move to Users & Groups option.
  3. Click the lock icon and proceed to enter the admin password.
  4. Click the Login Options and select Join tab.
  5. Go to the Open Directory Utility and click the Edit tab.
  6. Now select Disable, the Root User.

Remember, you must access the Root User account only when it is necessary or else the modification in the files may change the settings of the system. The Root can make the system vulnerable and easy prey to malware, hence it is a piece of advice to log out of the account and return to the regular account on your Mac system.

About us:

Dawn Martin is a self-professed security expert; she has been making the people aware of the security threats. Her passion is to write about Cyber security, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. She writes for Norton security products at norton.com/setup